facebook-with-circle linkedin-with-circle pinterest-with-circle twitter-with-circle youtube-with-circle

On behalf of the York County SPCA, I am honored to be a partner with the Byrnes Health Education Center.  Understanding the link between how we treat animals and how we treat one another is a very important tool in teaching compassion and empathy in our society.  I value the opportunity to reach our community through our relationship with the Byrnes Center and speak about the importance of treating all living things with dignity and kindness.

Melissa Smith

Executive Director

York County SPCA

Puberty Programs for Special Learners

Puberty Programs for Special Learners

These programs are designed for students living with Autism, Down Syndrome, learning disabilities and developmental delays.

  • Are you the parent of a child with a developmental delay?
  • Does the word “Puberty” strike fear in your heart?
  • Not sure how to explain physical changes, hormones, why your son or daughter needs to take a bath?
  • Do you have a daughter and you need to explain the monthly cycle soon?

You’re not alone.

The Byrnes Health Education Center and LIU #12 are here to help. The programs will contain biological, social and behavioral components about puberty.  All programs will be taught by experienced Special Education Teachers and will be presented to boys and girls separately.

*Adults attend program with student(s). 

Puberty for Girls:

• Wednesday, September 27, 2017
• Wednesday, October 25, 2017
• Wednesday, November 29, 2017
• Wednesday, January 24, 2018
• Wednesday, February 28, 2018
• Wednesday, March 28, 2018
• Wednesday, April 25, 2018
• Wednesday, May 23, 2018
• Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Puberty for Boys:

• Tuesday, September 26, 2017
• Tuesday, October 24, 2017
• Tuesday, November 28, 2017
• Tuesday, January 23, 2018
• Tuesday, February 27, 2018
• Tuesday, March 27, 2018
• Tuesday, April 24, 2018
• Tuesday, May 22, 2018
• Tuesday, June 26, 2018

All programs are held from 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM at the Byrnes Health Education Center located at 515 South George Street, York, PA 17401
Cost: $14 per person attending

You can register for one of these new programs using this registration form:

Puberty for Special Learners Registration Form

css.php